What We Do What We Do

Minimize

Student Life, Diversity, & Leadership
131 E. 10th Street
Claremont, CA 91711
909-607-0434
Open M-F  8:30 am-5:00 pm
Schedule an Appointment

 

Diversity and Inclusion

  • Diversity programming
  • Safe spaces for dialogue and learning
  • Mentorship (MMP)

International Services

  • International advising (F and J Visas)
  • Social and educational programming

Health Insurance

  • Domestic and international plans

Student Organizations

  • Maintaining student club records
  • Providing funding for registered student clubs and organizations

Graduate Student Council

  • Leadership training
  • Advising Executive Board

CGU Student Organizations CGU Student Organizations

Minimize

 The Office of Student Life, Diversity and Leadership acts on behalf of Claremont Graduate University to manage, and serve as a resource for student organizations. At CGU there is a wide variety of organizations that may meet your academic or social preferences, we strongly recommend that you consider participating in one of our existing student organizations or even create your own! Joining a student organization means joining a community, and having peers who often times become your support group. Through these organizations you also have the opportunity to strengthen and develop your leadership skills by planning, developing, and implementing events on campus or by collaborating with other organizations or campus constituents.

Whether the organization you choose to participate in is discipline related or identity/affinity related; together they encompass a variety of areas to explore.

CGU Graduate Student Council:

Graduate Student Council (GSC)

School and Department Student Associations:

School of Community & Global Health Student Association (SCGH - SA)- contact Ruth.Martinez@cgu.edu

Student Council of Arts & Humanities (SCAH)- contact Janice.Poss@cgu.edu

Student Organizations

Arts Media L.A.- Art Business students promoting the arts of the L.A. area. 

Association of Women's Studies in Religion – Dedicated to furthering research, academic resources, intellectual conversation, and professional opportunities for scholars in CGU's Women's Studies in Religion program. Contact Janice.Poss@cgu.edu.

Badminton Club - The Badminton Club offers opportunities to bring together badminton players and fans from CGU with diverse backgrounds to not just play badminton but socialize with each other. Contact Xiang.Ao@cgu.edu.

CGU Advocates for Survivors of Sexual Violence – Dedicated to providing exemplary support and services for graduate students at The Claremont Colleges who are survivors of sexual violence. Contact advocates@cgu.edu or visit our website.

CGU Christian Fellowship- Provides opportunities for Christians and others to grow in their faith and spirituality and to connect faith with reason on significant topics. Contact John.Mauger@cgu.edu.

CGU Ping Pong Club – Provides a platform to facilitate students' physical exercise and communication beyond academia and to help students make friends and embrace different cultures at CGU. Contact Zhijun.Gao@cgu.edu.

CGU Wellness Initiative- Advancing the professional development of individuals in the field of wellness. Contact Jennifer.Nguyen@cgu.edu

GenUN CGU Campus Chapter- GenUN is a national initiative of UNA-USA to engage amd energize young supportersaround UN issues. As an action-oriented platform, GenUN provides a vehicle for young people to get involved in global issues. The GenUN Chapter of the Claremont Colleges is committed to leading CGU and the other 7C's towards the implementation of the United Nations' Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). Contact lauren.shaffer@cgu.edu.

GIS Club- Contact Claudia.Caceres@cgu.edu.

Graduate Student History Association- Contact Anitra.Bishop@cgu.edu.

Phenomenal Voices L.A.- Contact whitney.martinez@cgu.edu.

Pure (human) Debauchery- Contact Susan.Mangan@cgu.edu.

Society for Philosophy and Religion at Claremont- Contact John.Mauger@cgu.edu.

Soka Gakkai International: USA Buddhists Club – Aims to cultivate a network of friendship, peace, and nonviolence based on the teachings of Nichiren school of Mahayana Buddhism as practiced in the Soka Gakkai International-USA. Contact Victor.Haynes@cgu.edu.

Student Parent Association- Contact Claudia.Caceres@cgu.edu.

Students for Global Peace- Contact Kunaal.Kapoor@cgu.edu.

Women in Leadership Association- Contact Margo.Welsh@cgu.edu

Diversity Organizations

The Claremont University Consortium offers a range of support services to foster diversity at The Claremont Colleges and help students from underrepresented populations thrive academically, socially, and culturally, ensuring a rich, diverse experience for all students. In addition, CGU's Graduate School Council supports the creation of student associations that recognize students on the basis of gender identity, nationality, race, ethnicity, religion, and sexual orientation. Please contact Dean of Students and Campus Life for more information.

Chinese Students and Scholars Association- Contact Zhou.Fang@cgu.edu.

Claremont Korean Student Association- Contact Minjae.Yun@cgu.edu.

LatinX Graduate Student Union- Contact Jenelle.Nila@cgu.edu.

Queer Graduate Union – Advocacy group that provides a safe space and increases visibility and awareness of the interests impacting the LGBTQQIAA community at CGU and Keck Graduate Institute. 

South Asian Student Association – Aims to bring the arts, food, and culture of the Indian subcontinent to CGU through events such as musical and dance performances. 

 


Staging Enabled