Contact Us Contact Us

Minimize
Shamini Dias, PhD 
Jeremy Schnieder, PhD 
 
Preparing Future Faculty
Claremont Graduate University
135 E 12th Street
Claremont, CA 91711
(909) 607-6225 l pff@cgu.edu

Spring 2018 Workshop Schedule Spring 2018 Workshop Schedule

Minimize

RSVP for Workshops

To read the workshop descriptions, check out the Workshop Catalog. Locations TBD.

Mandatory Workshops

Monday Series
Must attend both days/parts.

PFF Workshop Orientation
Monday, January 22, 4:00 PM—6:50 PM

Introduction, Reflective Practice, & Teaching Philosophy
Part I - Monday, January 29, 4:00 PM—6:50 PM
Part II - Monday, Feburary 5, 4:00 PM—6:50 PM 

Understanding Learning and Motivation & Changing Contexts in Higher Education
Part I - Monday, Feburary 12, 4:00 PM—6:50 PM
Part II - Monday, Feburary 19, 4:00 PM—6:50 PM 

Student Learning Outcomes (SLOs) & Aligning Assessments to Outcomes
Part I - Monday, Feburary 26, 4:00 PM—6:50 PM 
Part II - Monday, March 5, 4:00 PM—6:50 PM 

Designing Effective Syllabi & Pedagogy for Tech Integration
Part I - Monday, March 19, 4:00 PM—6:50 PM 
Part II - Monday, March 26, 4:00 PM—6:50 PM 

Practicum Portfolio Orientation 
Monday, April 2, 4:00 PM—6:50 PM 

Saturday Series

Introduction, Reflective Practice, & Teaching Philosophy
Saturday, Sept. 23rd, 9:00 AM—2:00 PM 

Understanding Learning and Motivation & Changing Contexts in Higher Education
Saturday, October 7th, 9:00 AM—2:00 PM

Student Learning Outcomes (SLOs) & Aligning Assessments to Outcomes
Saturday, October 21st, 9:00 AM—2:00 PM 

Designing Effective Syllabi & Pedagogy for Tech Integration
Saturday, November 4th, 9:00 AM—2:00 PM 

Elective Workshops

Creating Classroom Community
Friday, January 19, 4:00 PM—6:50 PM 
 
Academic Integrity: Detecting Plagiarism 
Friday, January 26, 4:00 PM—6:50 PM
 
Academic Integrity: Addressing Plagiarism
Friday, February 9, 4:00 PM—6:50 PM 
 
Silence in Classrooms: A Pedagogical Tool 
Friday, February 16, 4:00 PM—6:50 PM 
 
Making Content Relevant 
Friday, February 23, 4:00 PM—6:50 PM 
 
Facilitating Group Projects 
Friday, March 2, 4:00 PM—6:50 PM
 
Portfolios in the Classroom 
Friday, March 23, 4:00 PM—6:50 PM 
 
Visual Syllabi & Outcomes Maps
Friday, April 6, 4:00 PM—6:50 PM 
 
Creating & Using Rubrics**

Monday, April 9, 4:00 PM—6:50 PM

**Note, this Elective workshop is on a Monday, not a Friday. To be eligible to attend you must have completed the mandatory workshop Student Learning Outcomes (SLOs) & Aligning Assessments to Outcomes.

Effective Feedback
Friday, April 13, 4:00 PM—6:50 PM 

Workshop Schedule

Workshops are marked as  "Mandatory" or "Elective" for those working toward the PFF Certificate in College Teaching. If you are not working toward the PFF Certificate but are still interested in developing your knowledge and skills as a teacher-scholar, you may attend the workshops on an ad hoc basis. All workshops are open to CGU students, alumni, faculty, and staff, as well as to the 7Cs community.


Staging Enabled